Letter-X

لَقَدْ خَلَقْنَا الْإِنسَانَ فِي أَحْسَنِ تَقْوِيمٍ

Verily, We created man of the best stature (mould) (95:4)

لَقَدْ خَلَقْنَا الْإِنسَانَ فِي كَبَدٍ

We have certainly created man into hardship. (90:4)

I have been thinking about these verses since a while now. I hesitated to write to you; my morale has its highs and lows. Looking around other kids and parents and the struggles of this dunya, I was so worried about nurturing you. I AM worried actually. You’re growing up, All Praise is to Allah. You are due in a month’s time. Whenever I feel slight contractions or cramps, I feel like I am not prepared enough.

I haven’t been able to meet my goals. I just sometimes wish out if frustration to destroy the idols of fitnah (trials and temptations) around me. I wish that Allah blesses you with an intellect unshakeable; the world is ruthless son. The evil in it is so powerful that it will go long ways to keep reality hidden from you.

Who else can I think of, apart from you when reading the following verse?

اعْلَمُوا أَنَّمَا الْحَيَاةُ الدُّنْيَا لَعِبٌ وَلَهْوٌ وَزِينَةٌ وَتَفَاخُرٌ بَيْنَكُمْ وَتَكَاثُرٌ فِي الْأَمْوَالِ وَالْأَوْلَادِ ۖ كَمَثَلِ غَيْثٍ أَعْجَبَ الْكُفَّارَ نَبَاتُهُ ثُمَّ يَهِيجُ فَتَرَاهُ مُصْفَرًّا ثُمَّ يَكُونُ حُطَامًا ۖ وَفِي الْآخِرَةِ عَذَابٌ شَدِيدٌ وَمَغْفِرَةٌ مِّنَ اللَّهِ وَرِضْوَانٌ ۚ وَمَا الْحَيَاةُ الدُّنْيَا إِلَّا مَتَاعُ الْغُرُورِ

Know that the life of this world is but amusement and diversion and adornment and boasting to one another and competition in increase of wealth and children – like the example of a rain whose [resulting] plant growth pleases the tillers; then it dries and you see it turned yellow; then it becomes [scattered] debris. And in the Hereafter is severe punishment and forgiveness from Allah and approval. And what is the worldly life except the enjoyment of delusion (57:20)

I seek refuge for you for your entire life from amusement, diversion, adornment, boasting and competition i.e. La’ib, lahw, zeenah, tafakhur and takathur. I wish I could explain the deceptive nature of this world to you while you’re in your crib sleeping beside me. I wish I could get these verses engraved in your soul. I can’t see you stuck in boasting, materialism, deviant amusement and useless entertainment. It drains the soul and eeman gets withered within the heart.

Music, entertainment, boasting, useless comparisons and competition in dress and wealth have made me old. These evils make a soul old and woe-be-gone.

When a person indulges in these and forgets Allah SWT, he/she has ignored the reality of the birth of a human being. One, man was born in the best stature and man was born in toil.

Don’t fall for ease and comfort. You’re gonna come into this world, breathing your first in toil as well. Each phase will have its hardship. If you read the urdu translation of 90:4, it means that because a man was born in the perfect balance, he has the potential to ace hardships. But he/she forgets about the potential, wishes for a life of blind ease and falls in the five traps of dunya mentioned in 57:20.

I can’t let you waste your blessings, the power of your mind and soul in those 5 things no matter 99% of the world is indulged into such things. I can’t let you waste your senses to useless disobedience.

I miss you without you being born.

I haven’t read to you much as I had planned. May Allah out power in my word and deed so that I can nurture you through His guidance, the Qur’an.

I love you very much.

I hope I can do justice to motherhood.

Love,

Mama.

 

Leave a Reply

