Eating with Awareness-Letter VIII

Asalam o Alaikum.

You’re growing up Alhamdulilah.

On and off, guilt and regret set in. Before marriage, whenever I thought of motherhood, I could’ve never imagined eating carelessly. I have ignored and not utilized the knowledge Allah SWT gave me about holistic health and nutrition. I prayed for beneficial knowledge and Allah SWT gave me access to various Prophetic Medicine and Holistic health resources which busted many mainstream, conventional myths but then I got weak in motivation and was influenced by people around me.

I wanted to share with you two ayaahs from the Quran that are on my mind since I am getting high blood sugar scores day and night since a few days. Through my carelessness, I am able to reflect over them with more focus and attention.

 “[ Allah said], “O messengers, eat from the good foods and work righteousness. Indeed, I, of what you do, am Knowing.”

This ayah is number 51 in Surah Muminoon, the 23rd Surah of the Quran. Firstly, this is a command. Secondly, it is being given to the Messengers. The Messengers were wise and healthy in each of their era then why did Allah SWT had to command then to eat of the Tayyib (good) foods? Thirdly, the link between righteous deeds and good foods is absolutely clear in the ayah mentioned above.

Hence, I have wronged myself when I have not taken care of my health instead of listening to my body, I have submitted to my desires.

Farhat Hashmi in her lecture explains the phenomenon in the same light. Remember the ayah is coming from the chapter titled “The Believers”. A believer ought be mindful when eating; he/she has to determine if the food is nutritious, healthy, hygienic and pure (meaning of tayyib).

I kept ignoring my instincts and gave in to the social pressures that come with eating and let the anxiety of the last 3 to 4 years take over me.

Son, this isn’t good. This is a weakness. I want to share my weaknesses with you too not just highlight strengths. It is by overcoming weaknesses, that people become warriors of strong will.

 

Whenever my sugar levels soar high, I think of you. I am sorry. Parenthood began from the womb and I have been careless.

I have learnt the most about health and wellness from Dr Shagufta Feroz’s work, Tibb e Nabwi texts (Prophetic Medicine), thorough research of my own, digging into journal after journal to reach the truth of the matter. May Allah open the reality of the world for you along with the medical and the food industry quite earlier in life.

I want to educate you about everything under my control or knowledge. Don’t take that as a burden. I have climbed a few steps up; when your senses are fully develop, you can take my hand and teach me as well. I am open for correction. I love you very much.

I hope my mindless attitude towards health would not impact you in anyway. I will repent and true repentance erases every wrong doing.

You’re going to be such an amanah-a trust that the reckoning sometimes scares me to the core.

I hope and pray your father also realizes the magnanimity of this amanah. Satirically speaking, there will always be gender differences.

Before I end the letter, ponder over the second ayah. It is one of the most profound ayahs. Everytime I make a mistake, I quickly think about the dua that Allah SWT, our Creator, taught Prophet Adam a.s Himself.

رَبَّنَا ظَلَمْنَآ اَنْفُسَنَا وَإِنْ لَمْ تَغْفِرْ لَنَا وَتَرْحَمْنَا لَنَكُونَنَّ مِنَ الْخٰسِرِينَ

Our Lord! We have wronged ourselves, and if you do not forgive us and have mercy upon us, we will surely be amongst the losers. (Al-A’raf:23)

May Allah endear Faith to you, beautify deen in your heart and make disbelief, transgression, shamelessness and immorality hateful to you.

Love,

Mother.

Leave a Reply

