Who guides and protects…

إِنَّ صَلَاتِي وَنُسُكِي وَمَحْيَايَ وَمَمَاتِي لِلَّهِ رَبِّ الْعَالَمِينَ لَا شَرِيكَ لَهُ وَبِذَلِكَ أُمِرْتُ وَأَنَا مِنْ الْمُسْلِمِينَ اللَّهُمَّ اهْدِنِي لِأَحْسَنِ الْأَعْمَالِ وَأَحْسَنِ الْأَخْلَاقِ لَا يَهْدِي لِأَحْسَنِهَا إِلَّا أَنْتَ وَقِنِي سَيِّئَ الْأَعْمَالِ وَسَيِّئَ الْأَخْلَاقِ لَا يَقِي سَيِّئَهَا إِلَّا أَنْتَ

Jabir ibn Abdullah reported: The Prophet, peace and blessings be upon him, would begin his prayer by exalting Allah and then he would say,

Verily, my prayer, my rites, my life, and my death are for Allah the Lord of the worlds. He has no partner and with this I have been commanded and I am among the Muslims. O Allah, guide me to the best deeds and the best character, for no one guides to the best of them but you. Protect me from evil deeds and evil character, for no one protects from the evil of them but you.”

Source: Sunan al-Nasā’ī 896

Grade: Sahih (authentic) according to Al-Albani

I was about to learn this. I felt like writing to you, o little one in my womb. You see I am out of words. Just look at the magnanimity of the prayer above and the humility of the ‘Mercy to Mankind’ our Messenger sallalahu alaihi wassalam. I pray I can make you memorize this earlier.

We complain to Allah SWT and look at the Prophet (p.b.u.h). He is seeking refuge from evil character and asking for the best deeds and character. Can you imagine? The best human being to walk on this planet until the Hereafter is asking for these things.

Also, look at the declaration before the dua. I had not read this before baby. I came across it today; Allah guided us to this and it is the greatest blessing. Guidance is the greatest blessing!

No one can protect you of evil of this world but Allah and I seek refuge for you from all evil that exists. One thing I want to tell you is no matter how hard I try, I will often be clueless in situations and my parenting might go wrong but baby supplications can never go wrong. I have my short comings; everyone is a struggling human being. I won’t expect perfection from you but naturally each of us is born in toil.

No matter what the situation, seek the good in it and pray for refuge from the evil. No matter where you are; remember how the MERCY TO MANKIND did it.

He (p.b.u.h) never hurt anyone; his tongue was all honey. No bitter or careless speech has been recorded of him and he had a heart of gold. But look at what he is praying for.

I am incomplete and trying to understand the above supplication more than ever.

May Allah make you a walking example of the above narration in an age where trials and temptations fall into every home like raindrops on windowpanes. To be such an example is hard work; it is very hard to acknowledge your insecurities, fears and helplessness and pray to the Almighty. But you can do it!

May Allah put unique talents in you; may you recognise your strengths and use each of them to please Allah and make this world a better place to live in.

I love you.

May Allah mend my speech before your birth so that my words can enter your heart and never hurt you.

 

Mother.

Leave a Reply

