Returning to Allah in all matters!

اصْبِرْ عَلَىٰ مَا يَقُولُونَ وَاذْكُرْ عَبْدَنَا دَاوُودَ ذَا الْأَيْدِ

ۖإِنَّهُ أَوَّابٌ

Be patient over what they say and remember Our servant, David, the possessor of strength; indeed, he was one who repeatedly turned back [to Allah ]. (Surah Sad:17).

Awwab- habitually repenting and often returning back to Allah in all matters. Whenever I have come across this Arabic word, I have thought about you my son. I am not yet sure what eventually your name will be; but I, your mother would want to address you by this name. I will tell you about Prophet Dawood a.s in the next letter.

When during the scan, the doctor told me about you, I was overjoyed with tears. Your grandmother was with me. She out of excitement hugged the doctor (how adorable). You, at 23 weeks right now inside me are healthy and sound. Baby, to be born sane and healthy is one of the greatest blessings. Your bones, muscles, organs and all systems are intact; there is no unusual feature in you. Praise be to the Creator.

When I came home, joy turned into anxiety and insecurity. I am unprepared son; how will I raise a fine man, the likes of Awwab and men around our Messenger. You must know that parents have their shortcomings. This name that I want to give you is an entire mentality and a way of life. Better understood in Urdu (rujoo’ kerne vala). Allah SWT has used this to describe His Prophets! It is such an honor to know this.

In the above ayah, look how Allah is telling our Messenger to be patient over what they say and ponder over the life of Prophet Dawood a.s

I will give you his examples often, may Allah empower my speech, actions and personality.

No matter what ways the society, your family or your friends tell you about, please abide by the name which is an institution in itself. Turn to Allah in each matter; for your math problem in grade 4 to your multicultural research in doctorate; from when you wake up n the morning to being about problem solver when resolving conflicts in the community or workplace.

Like Hazrat Maryam handed over Prophet Isa to Allah SWT, I do as well. May Allah bless you with unique talents, strengths and soft skills like our Messenger.

May you understand the wholeness of this name; may you turn to the Quran as your friend in all times.

Love,

Mother.

 

 

Leave a Reply

