Becoming Brilliant…

Asalam o Alaikum wr wb!

My beloved amanah (trust). Allah SWT has given you as an amanah to me. I pray that I am able to fulfill the responsibility put on my shoulder together with your father. So this is the third letter to you. You aren’t born yet. Enjoying inside me; tossing and turning in the amniotic fluid. You must be the size of a bigger melon now.

I was reading this book “Becoming Brilliant: What science tells us about raising successful Children”. You must know that I tried to educate myself to be a learned parent. So let’s talk about some big things. I hope you can read this, much earlier life.

Relevant to this book about and the world we live in; beloved baby this world is a testing place. The era you’re about to thrive in is full of tempting trials. The sooner you understand this, the better. Just when I was thinking about saving you from plastic toys and buying wooden toys for you which could boost imagination and connection to nature, I came across this book. So it mentions the education systems and reforms of various countries and so far suggests what could be done to fix them. I pray I can raise you like they call it “brilliant”. I would love to see you choose a profession which is related to Allah SWT; sociology, psychology, environmental sciences, medicine and there are going to be plenty when you grow up. The choice is completely yours; may Allah guide you from darkness to light. Global warming, broken communities and mentally disturbed people are the concerns of today. I pray Allah gives you the heart and soul to perceive the pain of the creation Allah SWT created. Never rejoice on someone’s pain; never.

I might not be able to choose the best school, university or profession for you but I will love you. We will learn from mistakes and grow spiritually.

I can imagine you asking me novel questions; hardly any other kid of your age might ask. I want to be empowered enough to instill Tawheed in you as early as possible and I am totally clueless how. You will learn much later in life baby, especially during the hardest times, that the biggest reality and the one we offer go astray from is Tawheed. May Allah make you an example in the Akhirah and this world.

May Allah save you from hardships and make the way of His obedience easy for you.

I love you. I hope I learn better communication skills before your birth. There is so much to do; where everyone is concerned about baby gear I am dying of guilt that I know nothing of the Quran to teach you in innovative ways.

I seek refuge in Allah from even that moment when you can’t look upto me when lost, hurt or simply confused. May Allah wash away my sins and make me an example for you.

لاَ مَلْجَأَ وَلاَ مَنْجَا مِنْكَ إِلاَّ إِلَيْكَ

…There is no place of protection and safety except with You O Allah

 

Love,

Mother.

Leave a Reply

